Trailer Trashing: A Dangerous Method

Trailer trashing (verb) (present continuous) – to make superficial, sarcastic judgements based on three minute previews, in a not at all serious way.

I think I may be slightly in love with Michael Fassbender. Not since my teens (or as I like to them, the DiCaprio years) has an actor managed to provoke such lustful and inappropriate thoughts. So when I heard that there was a film starring The Fassbender (as I like to call him) and Lord of the Rings actor, Viggo Mortensen, I had to still my beating geeky heart. Fassbender and Mortensen? Magneto and Aragorn? Together?

My immediate thoughts were that the handsome pair would team up on a manly vigilante mission. They would hunt some orc, maybe some Nazis (as is Fassbender’s way in his movies) maybe even a terrifying hybrid of the two. And then they would – and my mind goes fuzzy at this point – I don’t know. Have a pillow fight? Frolic on a beach? Call me?

It turns out, I couldn’t have been more wrong. The film in question is called A Dangerous Method and it’s about those light-hearted lovers of fun Carl Jung (Fassbender) and Sigmund Freud (Mortensen). It also stars Keira Knightley, and her pouty ways.

Here are the superficial judgements that I made based on the trailer alone.

The film definitely has promise. I do like a good period drama. Fassbender and Mortensen are both strong actors and Mortensen especially looks disturbingly Freud-like. Meanwhile, Fassbender rocks the creepy Jung moustache like no one else could.

Speaking of creepy, Vincent Cassell is in this too, being all lusty and French and (in the uncut trailer, which seems to have been deleted from Youtube) getting extremely handsy with a peasant girl. I can’t shake the image of him groping poor Natalie Portman in Black Swan. Does he get to do that in all his films now?

Keira Knightley is attempting to do a Russian accent and it is unintentionally hilarious. Go Keira! I think she learnt it watching Mickey Rourke in Iron Man 2.

Verdict: Watchable for the leads alone, although my attraction to Freud and Jung suggests a need for psychiatric help.

Leave a Reply

